

ePhyto Factsheet #4

Appendix 1 to ISPM 12

What is the Appendix 1 to ISPM 12?

Appendix 1 to ISPM 12 is a document that describes the format and the contents of electronic phytosanitary certificates (ePhytos) and their exchange between NPPOs.

The ePhyto format is based on the UN/CEFACT XML schema with guidance on placing all elements of a phytosanitary certificate in a harmonized way in the schema.

The full title of the Appendix 1 to ISPM 12 is "Electronic certification, information on standard XML schemes and exchange mechanisms".

Appendix 1 is a critical component to develop and ensure global harmonization in the use of ePhyto.

NPPOs are encouraged to use harmonized terms and codes for the contents of the certificate. The exchange of ePhytos should be secure and harmonized.

Main features of Appendix 1

The main objective of the Appendix is to establish the harmonization of phytosanitary data to allow the efficient transmission of ePhytos.

The Appendix aims to deliver harmonization of the following:

- XML message structure
- XML schema contents
- Country names
- Scientific names of plants and pests
- Description of consignment
- ◆ Treatments
- ◆ Additional declarations

Approval of Appendix 1

CPM-9 approved Appendix 1 to ISPM 12 during its annual meeting in Rome in April 2014. After country consultation and discussions in the Standards Committee, there were no substantial concerns raised by the IPPC contracting parties.

Therefore the appendix was approved without further discussion during CPM-9. The Appendix is now an official part of ISPM 12 and available on the IPPC website.

What is an ePhyto?

- ePhyto is short for "electronic phytosanitary certificate".

 An ePhyto is the electronic version of a phytosanitary certificate.
- All the information contained in a paper phytosanitary certificate is also detailed in the ePhyto.
- ePhytos can be exchanged electronically between NPPOs.
- ePhytos should be produced in accordance with ISPM 12 and its Appendix 1. ePhytos contain phytosanitary data in XML format.

What is an ePhyto system?

- An ePhyto system is the IT system by which phytosanitary certificates are produced and exchanged electronically between NPPOs.
- ePhyto exchange means the sending and receiving of ePhytos between two countries.
- Point-to-point exchange is when the ePhyto exchange is directly between the NPPO of the exporting country and the NPPO of the importing country.
- Single point exchange is the option when the ePhyto exchange between NPPOs of several exporting countries and NPPOs of several importing countries is through a single location.



ePhyto Factsheet #4 | Appendix 1 to ISPM 12

Implementation of Appendix 1 – ePhyto Steering Group

The IPPC ePhyto Steering Group was established by the CPM-8 to coordinate work on key components to further harmonize ePhyto and assist countries with their implementation of ePhyto.

The ePhyto Steering Group is working on an implementation strategy for Appendix 1 and will consider supporting arrangements and capacity development. The ePhyto Steering Group will report to CPM-10 (2015) on the strategy to successfully implement Appendix 1.

Management of Appendix 1

The next challenge is to update the terms and codes that support ePhyto harmonization. The process to maintain this technical information is being development.

Whilst the text of the Appendix itself will not change, the underlying technical information will be updated. This information is on the IPPC website so can be more comprehensive and changed more easily than in the contents of the Appendix. This technical information is either directly available on the IPPC ePhyto website or linked through to the websites of other organizations that develop and maintain it.

The changes will include further harmonization of terms and codes and the details of exchanging ePhytos. Although harmonization will be an on-going process, NPPOs can now already start implementation of harmonized ePhytos.

Acknowledgement of contributors

Many thanks to those who joined the process of preparing Appendix 1 of ISPM 12 and the underlying information available on the IPPC ePhyto website. This started in the meeting in the Republic of Korea in 2011 and continued with those who volunteered to join the Working Groups and actively collaborated in the detailed preparation of the text and background documents.

This is a great example of how collaboration across the IPPC can work to achieve a common outcome. I'd like to acknowledge the efforts of all the following contributors.

Nico Horn Chair, ePhyto Steering Group

LIST OF CONTRIBUTORS NEXT PAGE

N.

Additional resources

The IPPC website has a lot of information on the history of ePhyto development – use the links below to find out more information:

- IPPC ePhyto home page
- IPPC ePhyto Steering Group and recent developments
- IPPC ePhyto codes and schema

Contact us

ePhyto Steering Group

International Plant Protection Convention (IPPC) Viale delle Terme di Caracalla, 00153 Rome, Italy Tel: +39 06 5705 4812 | Fax: +39 06 5705 4819 Email: ippc@fao.org | Web: www.ippc.int





ePhyto Factsheet #4 | Appendix 1 to ISPM 12

Contributors

Walter Alessandrini (AR)

Dennis Allex (FR)

Songül Akar (TR)

Arizal bin Arshad (MY)

Bev Beacham (AU)

Roberto Bertanzos (MX)

Marco Antonio Bittencourt Sucupira (BR)

Martin Boerma (NL)

Per Bratterud (NO)

Nathalie Bruneau (CA)

Maria Daniela Buzunariz Ramos (CL)

Paola Cabrera (CL)

Elvin A. Carandang (PH)

Maoyu Chen (CN)

Barbara Cooper (AU)

Hüseyin Dikci (TR)

Kal Doshi (AU)

Udo Froetschl (NZ)

oud Hockselli (NZ

Chua Lay Har (SG) Luis Espinoza (MX)

Bob Hersh (US)

Nguyen Quang Hieu (VN)

Nico Horn (NL)

Peter Johnston (NZ)

Seiki Jun (KR)

Katrin Kaminski (DE)

Sheryn Kirkpatrick-Papineau (CA)

Rebecca Lee (NAPPO)

Ms Cheon-Sun Lee (KR)

Luis Leonel Espinoza Lopez (MX)

Lode Maes (BE)

David Mbarani (KE)

Lex Moret (NL)

Mario Navarro (CL)

Pascual Miranda Nogales (BO)

David Nowell (IPPC)

J.A.Oluitan (NI)

Ana Maria Orbeta (CL)

Michael Perry (US)

Yusliana Abd. Rahim (MY)

Chortip Saiyapongse (TH)

Motoi Sakamura (JP)

Mario de los Santos (UY)

Heiko Schmalstieg (DE)

Vardit Seeman (IL)

Takahara Shinichi (JP)

Doris Sim (SG)

J.P. Singh (IN)

Michal Slanina (CZ)

Craig Southwick (US)

Silke Steinmöller (DE)

Josiah Syanda (KE)

Adriana Utges (AR)

Roman Vagner (EC)

1: 1) () () () () () () ()

Liesle Venter-Wagner (NZ)

Guy Watt (UK)

Julie Weymouth (AU)

Fitzroy White (JM)

Steve Wilkinson (US)

Olusola Wintola (NI)

Xu Jie (CN)

Kyu-Ock Yim (KR)

Salah Yousseff (EG)

Lukasz Zawilski (NZ)