## **Organization of core agencies of NPPO**

Two core agencies of Department of Agriculture are responsible for plant quarantine; (1) Office of Agricultural Regulation and (2) Plant Protection Research and Development Office

- (1) Office of Agricultural Regulation is responsible for
  - Regulate the import, export and movement of plants and plant products under Plant Quarantine Act
  - Provide services on importing and exporting agricultural products. There are 42 Plant Quarantine Stations throughout the countries; North (9), Northeast (7), East (4), Central (6), South (16)
- (2) Plant Protection Research and Development Office is responsible for
  - Conduct research, study and survey on pests and diseases and recommends environmentally sound and effective control measures
  - Conduct pest risk analysis
  - Stipulate phytosanitary requirements, restrictions and prohibitions on imported plants and plant products

## There are 4 groups as follows:

- 1. Pest Management Technology section divided to 3 sections
  - 1.1 Entomology section
  - 1.2 Plant pathology section
  - 2.3 Weed section
- 2. Entomology Research Group divided to 6 sections
  - 2.1 Insect Taxonomy section
  - 2.2 Biological Control section
  - 2.3 Pesticide Application section
  - 2.4 Agricultural Zoology section
  - 2.5 Mite and Spider section
  - 2.6 Agriculture and Industrial Entomology section
- 3. Plant Pathology Research Group divided to 5 sections
  - 3.1 Mycology section
  - 3.2 Bacteriology section
  - 3.3. Virology section
  - 3.4 Nematology section
  - 3.5 Plant Disease Management Technology section
- 4. Weed Science Research Group divided to 2 sections
  - 4.1 Weed Taxonomy section
  - 4.2 Weed Management Technology section
- 5. Plant Quarantine Research Group divided to 3 sections
  - 5.1 Plant Quarantine Pest Diagnosis section
  - 5.2 Pest Risk Analysis section
  - 5.3 Plant Quarantine Treatment section